A Michigan Month to Month Lease Agreement (Tenancy at Will) is a rental agreement that is on a per month or week basis. This type of lease is considered renewed at the end of each rental period (month-to-month or week-to week, depending on how often rent must be paid). Unless stated, this lease agreement will automatically renew at the beginning of every month. Be aware that landlords may increase the rent so long as they give the tenant 30 days written notice.
This type of agreement can be created by actual or implied consent. In order to terminate, the landlord or tenant, which ever initiates the termination, must give the other party 30 days written notice required by law. Just like with any of kind of lease agreement in the state of Michigan, the security deposit should be returned no later than 30 days after the tenant gives written notice once moved out.