Residential Lease Agreement

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

A Residential Lease Agreement is a legally-binding document between a tenant and landlord negotiated beforehand for a residential property. The Lease includes property, tenant, and landlord details. Typically, a Standard Residential Lease Agreement is a fixed-term lease, generally lasting for a one year term. Renters who break their lease lose their deposit and, if applicable, their pre-paid rent for the final month of the lease. A tenant who breaks their lease may be held liable for the amount of time and rent left on their contract. How much the tenant will be liable for depends on their state laws. Both the tenant and the landlord should keep a copy of the signed agreement for their records. When entering into any type of residential rental circumstance you should ensure that you have a valid contract to outline your rights and responsibilities as a landlord or a tenant.

What to Include

While each agreement can be customized for both the tenant and landlord’s needs, there is some important key information that should be included, such as:

  • The term or length of the contract
  • The amount and frequency of rent
  • Whether there can be rent increases during the duration of the term
  • If tenants are allowed to smoke, have pets, or a home business, etc.
  • The amount of security/damage deposit, charges for late payments, additional charges (such as utilities)
  • The maintenance and insurance obligations
  • Any rules and regulations about house guests
  • If there is an option to purchase the property
  • If there is an option to renew

A Standard Residential Lease Agreement should be completed and signed by both parties whenever a residential property is being rented. This includes but is not limited to:

  • A house
  • An apartment
  • A condo
  • A mobile Home
  • A basement Suite
  • A duplex
  • A townhouse
  • A single room

Free State Specific Residential Lease Agreements

Alabama Hawaii Massachusetts New Mexico South Dakota
Alaska Idaho Michigan New York Tennessee
Arizona Illinois Minnesota North Carolina Texas
Arkansas Indiana Mississippi North Dakota Utah
California Iowa Missouri Ohio Vermont
Colorado Kansas Montana Oklahoma Virginia
Connecticut Kentucky Nebraska Oregon Washington
Delaware Louisiana Nevada Pennsylvania West Virginia
Florida Maine New Hampshire Rhode Island Wisconsin
Georgia Maryland New Jersey South Carolina Wyoming